Conky config page updated

I think I’ve done enough with my conky configuration and installation for now. I successfully installed and configured conky on two Peppermint 7 Linux installations, on a virtual machine on my main desktop and on a PC I’d built a few years ago. I did have to do a little editing of the .conkyrc file on each. In the VM installation, I had to comment out the line for the second CPU core since there was only one core. It displayed an error about trying to access a core that didn’t exist. On the PC, I had to edit the Network section because the system saw the network interface as enp2s6 rather than eth0. The card was a Netgear FA311 Fast Ethernet card. I don’t know if the device name is a peculiarity with the card or with Peppermint.

Another thing I notice with my script in Peppermint was that the time was slightly to the left of center. In my installations with Ubuntu and Mint, it was always perfectly centered. I was able to fix the problem by changing the ${alignc 35} at the beginning of the penultimate line of the script to ${alignc}. I suspect that the 35 was some sort of an offset of some sort. Removing the 35 from the line on a Mint installation moved the time to a bit right of center. That’s something to be aware of, I guess.

I had installed conky on the VM yesterday and when I started the VM today, conky displayed as expected so adding the conky.desktop file to ~/.config/autostart/ is all that’s needed to launch it at boot-up. After installing it on the PC today, I opened the Autostart GUI and confirmed that conky was listed.

Satisfied that the installation commands were correct, I restructured theĀ My Conky Configuration page. Under the Installation heading, I listed the steps to install conky from the command line. I put the commands in bold text. You can highlight and copy to the clipboard. To paste them in the terminal use the Crtl+Shift+v key combination. Before the actual installation steps, I include commands to check for battery, CPU, and network interface information.

I kept some of the old installation information in case anyone wants to do it that way. Be aware that menus may be different depending on the distro you’re using.

After the script itself, I created a Notes heading that includes the notes I’ve made for each update. It’s kind of a changelog, I guess.

I’ve abandoned the idea of creating a bash script for the installation. There are only three commands and it’s easy enough to copy and paste them into the terminal.

In my instructions, I used gedit but you can use whatever editor you feel comfortable with. A graphical editor such as gedit works well if you need to do much cutting and pasting like when you need to change eth0 to something else on several lines. I like to use nano from the command line for small changes.

6 Responses

  1. “network interface as enp2s6 rather than eth0” — it turns out that Ubuuntu, beginning with Xenial, is going with the “new” standard in naming devices. The standard has been around a while but Linux is finally using it. I can live with it. This just makes it important to check the names of your devices so you aren’t surprised referring to eth0 doesn’t work. Names like enp2s6 aren’t going to be easy to remember.

  2. I modified the script again. Under Processors, I put in lines for 4 cores and commented out 2-3. I changed the date format at the end of the script so that it’s mm-dd-yy instead of dd.mm.yy. It seems more logical unless you’re in a military environment.

  3. I installed Bodhi Linux 4.1.0 which is also based on Ubuntu Xenial. Again, the default installation of my conky script moved the time display a bit to the left. And again, removing the 35 from the alignc statement corrected it. This may be a quirk in Xenial-based distributions. Removing the 35 on my Trusty-based Mint 17.3 installations shfits the time to the right.

  4. I made another minor change today. Under the Network section of the script, I changed the link in the wget command from icanhazip.com to ipv4.icanhazip.com to display the public IP address in IPv4 format (209.243.134.194). If you prefer the IPv6 format, simply remove the “ipv4.” portion of the address. Due its length, the IPv6 address will not be displayed in its entirety.

    I updated my Conky Configuration page and the downloadable script.

  5. I’ve noticed a couple of little quirks with conky on my Latitude E5500 running Linux Mint 18.1 Serena Xfce. After bootup, the display appears blurry, like a double image on a black background until I open a terminal window and reinitialize it from the command line. Then it displays normally on the desktop. The other quirk is that the “SYSTEM” line appears twice on the desktop display even though the line is not repeated in the actual script. I have not seen these on previous installations (based on Ubuntu Trusty).

  6. The problem was that conky was starting before the desktop had appeared. The solution was to add a delay to the Exec line in the conky.desktop file.

    Exec=/usr/bin/conky -p 15

    This added a 15 second delay to give the desktop enough time to be drawn.

Comments are closed.

