Laptop power problem

This evening when I went to install some updates on my laptop, I noticed it had powered down. I pressed the power button and it started to come up but after a couple of seconds it powered down. I unplugged it from the dock, plugged the power cord into it and tried again with the same result.

I decided to try some basic trouble shooting, first removing the battery. Without the battery, it failed to power up at all. It was then that I noticed that the blue ring at the end of the power cord was not illuminated. I traced the cord back to the brick and made sure that the AC cord was firmly inserted, which it was. I traced it back to the power strip which had power.

Figuring that the power brick itself had died (I’ve seen many that have died), I located another power brick and plugged it in. It worked. It’s a good thing I’ve kept a few spares around.

I’m always glad when it’s something simple. I probably should obtain a new battery anyway.

