Win 10 Upgrade

When I did the Windows 10 downgrade a while back, I installed Windows 7 on a different PC and kept the Windows 10 PC around just in case I needed some files or something. Tonight I decided that enough time had passed and that I wasn’t likely to need anything from that PC. It was time to upgrade my Windows 10 PC to Linux. I installed Mint 17.3 on it and started getting it set up the way I want it.

I downloaded my script from the web site to my home directory and all I had to do with it was to rename from conkyrc.txt to .conkyrc. Thanks to the if existing statements in the script, I didn’t have to edit out the WLAN information.

I also installed the chromium browser, Dropbox and curl. I recently read a couple of articles on transfer.sh, a service to upload files temporarily for later retrieval. It uses curl for upload and download from the terminal. I can see where that could be useful. I also installed my printers. Later on I’ll likely be installing some network utilities to troubleshoot network problems. This particularly PC will be replacing the Optiplex 755 in my network area. The 755 will be recycled or donated along with most of my other excess computers (the ones older than the ones I’m now using).

Leave a Reply

