Power down, unplug

Some time ago after a Linux upgrade, my HP 6005 Desktop Pro stopped powering off after doing a shut down. I’d either have to hold the power button for several seconds or reach back and pull the plug. I’ve been unplugging it after shutdown and plugging it back in. It’s a bit inconvenient. By the way, it powered down fine before the upgrade.

I’ve searched for a solution and tried various fixes but nothing so far has worked. I really can’t recall all the fixes I’ve attempted. Today I did some more research and found a couple of ideas I don’t think I’ve tried before. Maybe I have but they didn’t look familiar.

One that looks promising is installing acpi support. I may have tried this before but it’s worth a shot.

Another involved removing an if statement from /etc/init.d/halt. I’m sure I haven’t tried that one before.

I’ll comment with the results. Wish me luck.

2 Responses

  1. Yeah, I had acpi-support installed. I also tried various suggested modifications to grub and a few more things I found on-line. Nothing worked.

    One of the aggravating aspects of dealing with computers is that there are often multiple things that could cause an issue. Relatively few problems have a single cause or just a few possible causes. And it seems that in Linux, the problem is compounded and it doesn’t help that most forums expect a certain fluency in geek-talk or those who respond have difficulty translating geek to English. Often they assume that, because it worked for them, their answer is the only answer.

    I guess I’ll live with it. I suppose I could backup everything and upgrade to Mint 17.3 and see if that helps. I kind of doubt it. It’s my main PC so I’m hesitant to take unnecessary risks when everything else is working fine. Don’t fix what isn’t broken.

  2. I don’t know if upgrading to Mint 18.1 (Serena) would resolve the problem but I don’t really want to go the the hassle of doing a full restore and reinstalling applications for such a minor issue. Mint 17.3 will still be supported for two more years and by that time, I hope to have newer hardware.

Leave a Reply

