Dropbox Repository Links

I brought my old Gateway laptop with Mint 17 up for the first in about a year. There were a lot of updates, as one would expect. After the updates I noticed that Dropbox wasn’t synchronizing. After searching forums, I tried various fixes. Finally, I “purged” the existing installation and used apt-get to install nautilus-dropbox. That got it running properly again.

Now I’m getting 404 errors when I run apt-get update or run update manager. These 404 errors refer to the old dropbox repositories that no longer exist.  A Google search on the problem has not produced any useful information.

Failed to fetch http://linux.dropbox.com/ubuntu/dists/qiana/main/binary-amd64/Packages 404 Not found [IP: 108.160.177.238 80]

Failed to fetch http://linux.dropbox.com/ubuntu/dists/qiana/main/binary-i386/Packages 404 Not found [IP: 108.160.177.238 80]

I’ve not been able to locate these URLs in any of the source.list files under /etc/apt/. Nor can I find  any reference to them in the GUI Software Sources app. Yet when I run Update Manager or apt-get update the URLs are queried, thus producing the aforementioned error messages.

I left a query on the Dropbox support forum so I’m hoping to get a response soon.

One Response

  1. The Dropbox repository issue may be a moot point now. I upgraded from Mint 17 Qiana to 17.3 Rosa and all I get now is kernel panic at boot up. I downloaded the 17.3 ISO and put it on a flash drive. I’m installing it from scratch. I didn’t have anything on that laptop so adding the stuff I like shouldn’t be a problem.

    [Added] Apparently, the Gateway E475M does not like Mint 17.3 at all. It will be wiped and added to the donation pile. I’ll use the Optiplex 755 for the rack.

Comments are closed.

