NeoFetch

How to Display System Information with Neofetch on Linux

NeoFetch is a script to fetch hardware specifications, kernel version, uptime, desktop environment type, and other information and display it on the screen. It looks interesting. The article describes a Debian/Ubuntu installation but instructions for Arch Linux, Gentoo, Fedora, and Mac OS X are also available.

The screenshots in the article look too busy and too colorful for my tastes. I prefer interfaces and displays that are simple and uncluttered. I guess I’ll install it and check it out. Maybe there are customization options.

3 Responses

  1. I installed it on the Gateway laptop. It’s displays a lot of good information. I tweaked its configuration file to display a few other options. There is supposed to be a way to display an image with it but the documentation doesn’t say much about that. Nor does it give much information about customization. It’s apparently written by developers for other developers, assuming the same level of geek fluency.

  2. Also installed it on the 755 in the network rack and enabled a few extra items to be displayed. May as well put it on my HP too. A script to install it would be nice. I need to find a good book on BASH scripting.

  3. I saw a Windows version mentioned in the article and on the Neofetch web site but I haven’t found any actual information about it. I can get essentially the same kind of information in Windows from BgInfo or PsInfo in Microsoft’s Sysinternals Suite. I had BgInfo displaying system information on the desktop of my domain controllers. I could put BgInfo on my Windows PC to display essential information.

    [Added] The problem with BGinfo is that it displays its information as part of the desktop background. I suppose I could write a batch or PowerShell script to display the information in a command window. That shouldn’t be too difficult.

Comments are closed.

