Found another project

Yesterday I was looking into alternatives the the 2Wire 3802HGV that AT&T provide with my U-Verse package. It turns out that I could upgrade to the Pacer 5081NV gateway as long as I don’t have the U-Verse TV package (which I don’t). It’s supposed to be about $100 from AT&T which seems affordable.

Researching the matter a bit further I found a lot of information on setting up a router inside the AT&T Residential Gateway. Looking at the material, it doesn’t look like it would be very difficult. It seems that they actually made it easy to “bridge” the 2Wire gateway to allow a second router and have the inside router handle the DHCP and WiFi for the interior network.

I would have to change my network structure so that the inner network was something other than 192.168.1.0. That shouldn’t be a big deal. I can make it 192.168.0.0 or maybe something in the 172.16.0.0/12 area. I only have two static address – a printer and a NAS.

Now I’m looking for a router that supports 802.11n, preferably in the 2.4 and 5GHz ranges. Now I almost regret giving Ryan my Linksys N-router after I switched to U-Verse. I’ll be looking for something economical. I don’t need a lot of extra features; the basics will probably do just fine.

Here are some links about setting up a router inside a AT&T gateway:

Pseudo Bridge AT&T Uverse 3801HGV Modem (RG) to a Router (video)

Putting the 2Wire 3801HGV (AT&T UVerse) Residential Gateway (RG) into Bridge (Passthrough) Mode

Adding a third party router behind an ATT Uverse 3801HGV

Setting up Cisco Router behind the AT&T 3801HGV Router

The video was well done and showed every step clearly. That’s probably the method I’ll try first.

3 Responses

  1. Yesterday I did some research on the double-NAT problem that sometimes comes up when you have a router inside a router. Essentially, you can end up having two devices handling the NAT function.

    One article I read on the problem gave various solutions and one was to set up the second router as a switch, turning off its NAT and DHCP. It occurred to me that’s exactly the setup I have for my WRT54G router which I’m currently using as my wireless access point. A WAP is really all I need since all I’m trying to do is upgrade my wireless from G to N.

    I began looking at WAPs on line and found a refurbished D-Link DAP2553 WAP on Amazon for a very reasonable price. I should have it in about a week.

  2. According the the email I received from Amazon this morning, the WAP should arrive by sometime this evening.

    [Edit] Apparently, I misinterpreted the tracking information. The package was due to arrive in Dayton by 8PM, not at my house. It will have to be sorted and transported to the Huber Heights Post Office for further sorting and ultimate delivery. I might see it tomorrow, maybe Wednesday. If it gets delivered to my door by Friday, it’s “on time”.

  3. I was looking into the idea of using the WRT54G to set up guest wifi on a separate network but reading through the DAP2553 user manual, I saw that it supports up to four SSIDs so I could easily set up a SSID for guest wifi. However, it seems that it would still have access to the entire network. Maybe setting up the Linksys behind the gateway might be the best option.

Leave a Reply

