Downgrade Update

The memory I ordered to upgrade the Dell SFF so I could replace the Dell USFF arrived yesterday. It turned out that the Dell doesn’t support 8GB modules. I was about to see about returning them in exchange for four 4GB modules when it occurred to me that they might work in the Lenovo M91p. I tried it and it worked great.

I tried the memory I took out of the Lenovo in the Dell and found that two of the 4GB modules wouldn’t work. Later research indicated that the Dell wouldn’t support the latency of those modules. To the two modules that did work, I added two of the original 2GB modules, bringing it up to 12GB. That will be adequate for my needs in Windows. I’ve been running Windows 10 on the Dell USFF with only 4GB for a while.

In my research, I found some information indicating that although Lenovo says that the M91p supports 16GB of RAM, it will actually support 32GB. This weekend I plan to put those 4GB modules back into the other bank and see if it works. If it does, then she’ll have 24GB to work with.

This weekend I’ll work on installing the remaining applications and transferring my data to get the Dell up and running.

This morning, I put two 2GB modules into an extra USFF 780. When I finish this downgrade project, I’ll have three Ultra-Small Form Factor Dell 780s to be used for whatever. I’m sure I can find a use for them as Linux-based appliances or something.

2 Responses

  1. I was able to transfer my data from the Windows 10 PC to the “new” Windows 7 machine over the network. Then I installed the two Windows applications I actually use without any problems. I was also able to migrate my Firefox profile intact. Everything is up and running. The Windows downgrade was a complete success!

  2. I recently read an article explaining that Microsoft was making the Windows 10 upgrade a “recommended” update so it might actually install automatically. I downloaded the GWX Control Panel which is a GUI interface to control how Windows handles updates, the Windows 10 update in particular. I’ve installed on 3 of the 4 Windows 7 devices and blocked Windows 10. I’ll add it to the 4th this weekend.

Leave a Reply

