Laptop upgrades

My Latitude E5500 with Mint 15 is just a bit out of date and has been running a little sluggish lately. Rather than updated it to a newer version of Mint, I moved up to a Latitude E6500 and Mint 17. I’d done a back up of the E5500 to an ext4 external drive so I was able to keep my files and most of my software settings which made reinstalling applicaions a lot easier.

I’ll have to play around with the web cam. It doesn’t seem to work with Cheese but I was able to view it with VLC. I’ll have to look at how to stream video with VLC or find another alternative. That was really the only problem I encountered.

While I was at it, I upgraded the Gateway E-475 to Mint 17 as well. I’d forgotten that I’d put 15 on it back in May to use it to play videos, mp3’s, and podcasts in the Yoga Room. That was really on the back burner.

I looked at updating Tina’s HP Netbook for use in the Yoga Room but I decided it wasn’t robust enough. I’m not sure what I’ll do with that. I don’t think there is much I can do with it.

Leave a Reply

