Mint on Gateway

Over the weekend, I had planned to copy some files off the Windows partition on my Gateway E-475M but found that it would no longer boot into the Linux partition either. I pulled the drive and copied the data to my Windows 7 PC using a USB adapter. Then, after putting the drive back into the laptop I installed Mint 15 Cinnamon and began getting it set up for use in my yoga room where it will be primarily used to play music, led meditations, YouTube videos and instructional DVDs.

2 Responses

  1. I didn’t do anything with the Gateway since my post. I just upgraded it to Mint 17 and confgured it the way I like it. I’ll probably create a local web page with links to some of my YouTube subscriptions for yoga videos, along with links and embedded videos. I put Dropbox on it so I can use that as a means to transfer files to it.

  2. The Gateway E-475M is a non-player now and will be donated with the others. I’ve decided that I don’t need a laptop in the computer room. That’s my space for getting away from technology and distractions. If I need to watch a video or listen to a guided meditation, I can always bring in my laptop temporarily.

Comments are closed.

