Almost a smooth upgrade

Yesterday, I upgraded my wife’s computer to a newer, faster PC. The OS installation went well as did the installation of her programs and the transfer of her files. It’s working great except for one thing — Internet Explorer. For some reason it is ridiculously slow and it hangs up. At first I thought it might be because it was the default IE6 that comes with XP but even after upgrading to IE8 (which took a couple of hours), nothing has improved.

Both Firefox and Chrome work extremely well. I imported her IE favorites into Firefox and configured it so she can easily get to her email and Facebook account. I guess I’ll try to get her weaned from IE.

Once Microsoft stops supporting XP, I’ll probably continue to use it for a while but when it becomes unsupportable, all Windows PCs will upgrade to Linux. The only way I’ll be using a newer Microsoft operating system at home is if it comes loaded on a new computer.

One Response

  1. On her computer I imported her IE favorites into Firefox and her browsing experience (as expected) has improved tremendosuly.

Comments are closed.

