Domain Controllers RIP

This past Monday, I found that my domain- based computers would not connect to the domain. I restarted the controllers which took an abnormally long time even for them but still couldn’t connect.

I copied the primary profiles to local accounts and got the PCs up and working. (I’ll deal with the kids’ accounts later.) So far, they seem to be working fine. I haven’t pulled the plugs on the controllers yet although there’s really no reason to keep them running. I’ve got nothing to lose by wiping the drives and donating the machines to charity.

They faithfully served me for 12 years and the only hardware I ever replaced was a hard drive (data) and the network cards. They did alright for a couple of refurbished Dell towers.

I’ve often thought about replacing them with a Linux/Samba-based domain controller but I think I’m going to leave things in a workgroup environment. It’s simple and it works.

