Uverse Upgrade

I upgraded from ADSL to AT&T’s U-verse a little over a month ago. So far, I’m satisfied with the Internet access which was the main attraction for me. I wasn’t interested in the television package but I had to take it to get the rest (Internet and voice). In fact, I disconnected the TV receiver as soon as the installer left. My main reason for dismissing their TV package was they didn’t offer all of the International channels my wife watches with our current provider. I don’t much care about the television since I don’t watch it much anyway and I still can’t fathom why I would ever need for a DVR.

As usual with AT&T, they installed a 2Wire Residential Gateway which, as near as I can tell, I’m stuck with it unless there are other gateway options for U-verse. The Ethernet ports on the back don’t hold my cables securely which causes me concern since everything on my home network connects to it in some fashion. I recall that I had problems with the 2Wire Residential Gateway they provided when I originally made the switch to ADSL. I eventually bought a third party ADSL modem.

My biggest gripe has been its support for wireless. It only supports 802.11b/g and it continually drops the connection to wireless devices. When my ADSL modem died, I replaced it with a Linksys X2000 DSL modem/router which brought me up to 802.11n. Using the X2000 as my gateway, I used my Linksys WRT54G as a wireless access point and switch in the back of the house where my wireless signal had been weak. I tried to convert the X2000 into an access point but while I could get wireless devices to connect to it and get an IP address from the 2Wire, I couldn’t get them to communicate beyond the X2000. I was unable to find any information online to remedy the situation so I moved the WRT54G to my server area and disabled the wireless on the 2Wire device. I’m still stuck with 802.11g but I can live with it as long as I’ve got a reliable connection. Eventually, I’ll try to find an access point.

6 Responses

  1. I’m not all that impressed with the U-verse voice package. It seems I lost some capability when I made the switch. Now I don’t have full caller ID like I had before. It identifies some numbers and caller IDs but not many. Since I tend not to answer unknown calls, it would be nice if I could see names and/or numbers. I’ve looked at my account and I don’t see any means of enabling full caller ID.

    I don’t know if I took a step forward or a step back.

  2. I’d be more impressed with the U-verse Internet service if they would provide a better Residential Gateway or if there was a third party alternative. I got around the wireless dropping out by disabling the wifi on the RG and using an old Linksys router as the access point.

    Lately, my Internet connection has been dropping out but I haven’t been able to determine whether or not the problem is in my equipment or theirs. My hubs and switches are kind of old. I might take a look at that Cisco 24-port switch. If it’s not too noisy, I may put it into service.

    One physical problem with the RG is that one of the Ethernet ports does not securely hold the cable, making for a loose connection.

    The other day I saw something in a forum about setting up an internal router in the RG’s DMZ. I might take the X2000 and play around with that. If it works out and I decide to implement it, I’d have to change all of my static IP addresses, reconfigure my DNS server and probably change the login scripts. It might be worth the effort.

  3. I’m stuck with the U-verse TV package until the anniversary date of my contract, late October. I’m not too happy about that. The sales rep may have misrepresented that. I was under the impression that I could dump the TV after a month. So I’m paying for television that I’m not watching or even potentially watching.

  4. In a little over a month, I can drop my U-Verse television package, saving me $38 and some change every month for television I’m not watching. I’d consider ditching DirecTV for U-verse if they had the international channels I wanted.

  5. I finally canceled my U-Verse television. I probably lost some of my discounts and incentives but my monthly bill will still be $40 to $50 lower than it is now plus I’m not paying for television I’m not watching or even potentially watching. The media providers have quite a racket going, charging an arm and a leg for television you can only “potentially” watch.

    The customer service rep didn’t understand why I hadn’t just gotten the Internet and phone package. I had tried to tell the sales rep that I really didn’t want the television package but it fell on deaf ears. Maybe he was convinced that once I had enjoyed the U-Verse TV experience with the DVR, I’d never go back to satellite or cable.

    However, U-Verse didn’t offer the same or equivalent international package that we already had and that was a deal killer. The DVR went back in the box right after the installer left. I still have no idea why I might possibly need a DVR. I can kind of understand its usefulness for others but I can find no usefulness in it for myself.

  6. Just after New Year’s I switched my Internet provider back to Time-Warner (Spectrum). So far I’m happy with the change. I enjoy increased upload and download speeds and I haven’t had my service drop out. The only problems I’ve encountered have been internal to my network, mostly reinstalling the printers on the computers. I’m relieved to say that most of my previous problems with service dropping out were with AT&T, either their network or their equipment.

    I have the VoIP set up with a new number (wasn’t able to easily port the old land line number) and I’m ready to drop AT&T entirely.

Comments are closed.

