Plex

A friend set up the Plex client on his Roku and the accompanying media server on his computer and wanted to see if he could share his media library with me. I set up Plex on one of my Roku devices then installed Plex Media Server on my Linux PC. I got the accounts set up and everything configured but I wasn’t able to add any media to the libraries. The client on the Roku was able to see the media server but I didn’t seem to be able to get the server to function at all.

I tried to locate documentation on the Web but everything I found was geared toward Windows and Mac. I found virtually nothing dealing with Linux versions of the product. Frustrated, I removed it and installed the Windows version on another PC which seemed to work a lot better.

I really don’t have any downloaded media such as movies and television shows. I do have plenty of music although making it available through my televisions doesn’t seem to be very practical. One nice feature of the media server is a bookmark bar shortcut to queue online videos for later viewing. I can see where that might be useful.

One Response

  1. I never really used Plex and as I’ve upgraded and replaced my Windows boxes, the Plex server never found its way back on.

Comments are closed.

