Bluefish pissing me off

I just did a distro upgrade form Ubuntu 10.04 to 12.04 and I must say that the changes to the look and feel of the desktop and the functioning of the applications I use has left much less than impressed. I’m learning to tolerate the desktop a little more but what is happening with the Bluefish editor since the upgrade is extremely frustrating. I can’t figure out how to make it stop highlighting HTML markup tags. I love having the tags and the attributes in a different color but whenever the cursor is adjacent to a tag, both the opening and closing tags are highlighted in red. I don’t want them highlighted at all. I already know where my cursor is and what line I’m on. Is there any way to disable this feature?
The Bluefish documentation for version 2.2.2. (which I’m currently using) is nearly non-existent and a Google search doesn’t return anything that’s useful to me. Most of it seems to be aimed at proficient programmers. I am not a code geek. I just want simple, straight-forward answers. If I can’t find a solution, I will be forced to find an editor I can use and customize to my preferences and needs. I loved this editor until the upgrade.

Suggestions for alternative editors are welcome.

5 Responses

  1. Reblogged this on Gigable – Tech Blog.

  2. For the time being, I’m using gedit as my html editor. It works but it’s not quite what I want. I haven’t really looked for a Bluefish replacement yet. It may seem dated but I wonder how emacs would work? I haven’t actually used it in over a decade.

    • After much Google searching and fiddling with settings I got Bluefish back to something resembling what I was used to. I’m reasonably happy now.

  3. I can’t recall what I tweaked to get the appearance to something I could live with but I’m still not completely happy with it. However, I do miss the ability to select a block of text and spell check it. That seems to be such a basic function that its absence befuddles me.

Comments are closed.

