Android Market to Nextbook Premium 7

I’d like to have more options to read ebooks on my Nextbook Premium 7 than what’s offered by its default reader. I want to install the Kindle app or some other .mobi reader but my efforts were getting me nowhere. When I’d go to Android Market through the browser, it would want to download the app to my Droid. When trying to download one app, it said that the Android Market had to be installed on the device.

I found this article explaining how to do it: How to install Android Market to Nextbook Premium 7

I’ll try this at home tonight and will comment on how well it worked.

4 Responses

  1. It took a bit more work than the instructions indicated but I was able to get the Android SDK and drivers installed on my Windows PC to get the Adroid Market app on my Nextbook. Getting the FBReader app didn’t go as easily as expected but it’s installed. It seems to work alright. I read the first few chapters of Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone.

    There were a couple of Google things that didn’t install but they didn’t seem to affect what I needed to do. They dealt with syncing my calendar and contacts which shouldn’t matter since it’s not on a phone.

  2. I installed the market several weeks ago following the guidlines listed. Works well. The only problems I have ran into are apps that use gps or the camera, most of them fail and require forceclose. A few locked the Np7 up and I had to do a reset but I have found if you give it a few minutes it resets itself. Good luck.

  3. Thanks for the reply. FBReader worked ok for a few days but now when I open it, I can see the ebook I’m reading for a second then the screen goes dark. I finally uninstalled FBReader and installed the Kindle App from the SlideMe Market.

Leave a Reply

