Technology Update (08/08/11)

Not much has changed since the last couple of posts. The Cisco switch, the Linux Server, and the Windows print server are still sitting idle. I just haven’t felt motivated to do anything with them. My Windows PC is up and running and I’ve got some applications installed. I’ve been using it for finances and music. I still have yet to install the hardware/software for converting LPs or the software I was using on the W2K machine. I haven’t installed the slide scanner either. Geekiness isn’t as high a priority as it used to be.

Well, I did move my cell phone into the 21st century. I moved up to a Droid X. So far, it’s pretty good. There’s been a bit of a learning curve and I really haven’t begun to get into its capabilities and I’m occasionally overwhelmed when it’s not as intuitive as I’d like it to be but I’m getting there. In my perusing of various Droid-related forums, I’ve been less than impressed with their helpfulness. I often find several possible fixes for my problem but invariably they’re written with the assumption that I’m as geeky as they are and I know what the fuck they’re talking about.

No, I don’t soar with the ubergeeks. I don’t think I ever did. I am not awed by technology. I view technology as a set of tools. Tools, by their very nature, exist to be useful, to perform a function and perform it well.

My rules for technology:

  1. It must work and perform its intended function.
  2. It must simplify tasks.
  3. It must be reliable.
  4. It must be intuitive (user friendly).
  5. It must not cause additional stress.
  6. It must not succumb to feature creep. Every feature should be necessary.

What’s annoying me most about my Droids right now is that I haven’t found a good vehicle mounting system for it. A suction cup on the windshield makes it unreachable. A disk mounted atop the dashboard places it too high and in the line of vision. The vent mounts haven’t worked out either. I find them difficult to mount in the vents and they tend to fall out or get in the way. I’m looking into a cup holder mount which might work alright for the truck but not so well for the car since the cup holders are back further. There must be a practical solution for this.

