Been a Bit Dormant

Things have been a bit dormant on the home network for a while. I don’t have any excuses. I just haven’t done anything in a while. Yesterday I switched responsibility for NTP back to the domain controller and brought down the Linux server. I’ll probably retire that old box now that I’ve got a better machine ready and waiting in the wings. It could take a while and I don’t plan to have it replace my Windows domain controllers until I have it working.

I had acquired a PC that had been intended to be my XP box but I found that the motherboard would only support 1GB of memory. I put a gigabyte in it, loaded XP on it and made it my Windows print server to share my Samsung printer.

The IBM workstation is about ready to be loaded. I’ve got two 160GB SATA drives installed. I began the Linux installation this evening. The entire configuration process may take me a while. I’m not in a hurry and I want to do it right.

I put a drive into a removable shell so it’s ready to put into my old Windows 2000 machine and load XP on it. Once that’s done I’ll need to migrate the data and install the apps. I still need a Windows PC around. I have a few things that I haven’t found suitable Linux equivalents. I’m sure they’re out there but I don’t have the time to research and test them right now.

Leave a Reply

