Penultimate Day 2010

Here it is, the penultimate day of 2010, the day of the year when I look back over the previous 364 days and review what did and did not happened, and what did and did not work.

This blog started out on my FrankenWeb server but in May I noticed that I was no longer able to reach FrankenWeb from outside my LAN. I think it had something to do with some settings in my DSL modem although it had been working fine prior to that. At the time I didn’t feel like messing with it so I moved my FrankenWeb content to my hosted site and reestablish this blog on my WordPress account. FrankenWeb has since been retired.

Since Microsoft was ending its support of Windows 2000 in July, I began to think about migrating to a Linux-based network since upgrading to 2003 or 2008 servers wasn’t going to happen. Not only didn’t I have the money to invest in upgrading to newer operating systems or the necessary hardware, I wasn’t really using Active Directory to its full potential. Actually, about it was providing was authentication to log into the domain. I wasn’t making much use of group policy and I moved the login scripts out of AD into the NETLOGON share because XP wasn’t playing well with the domain login. I decided that a Linux server running Samba could provide the same service, as well as NTP and DNS services.

I’ve been playing around with Linux servers but haven’t implemented it yet. So the Windows 2000 domain controllers are still on line.

As part of the Linux migration, I purchased a Western Digital NAS device and moved the content from my Windows servers to it. Even though the NAS operating system is Linux, it was designed to work in a Windows environment. Nonetheless, I’m able to access it with Linux as a Windows share although it’s a bit slow. I’m considering having user home directories on the yet to be built Linux server and use the NAS for backup and archiving.

I’ve set up several computers as Linux servers but I haven’t made the time to configure the for the tasks I want them to do. I have a nice IBM workstation that will be the next incarnation of the Linux server. I’m not sure when I’ll get around to it, probably when the domain controllers finally die. I’m amazed that they’ve been running for nearly a decade.

This year I’ve been moving towards Linux on the desktop. I semi-retired my Windows 2000 PC and built a new computer which is running Ubuntu 10.04. I’ve got my laptop dual-booted with Ubuntu and Windows XP. The wife’s PC is XP and the grandchildren’s PC is running Linux Mint and XP. I’m trying to encourage them to use Linux.

As the year draws to a close, the Linux migration isn’t making as much progress as I had envisioned. My laptop is sitting on my desk with broken Windows. I need to try and resurrect it but I’m certain I’ll have to wipe the drive completely and start over. If it comes to that, do I want to dual-boot it or have one OS?

Leave a Reply

