Fun With Windows

I’ve been having all kinds of computer issues lately. Windows on my laptop is messed up, I think it’s the Windows keyboard drivers. After I’ve logged in to Windows, I lose keyboard response, neither the laptop nor the external keyboard work. I haven’t had time to do anything about it.

This week my wife’s computer got slammed with a particularly nasty bit of malware, the “XP Antispyware 2011” thing. My attempt to clean it off manually made Windows unusable so I did a repair to the OS and the malware was back again. What did the repair do? Go back to the last restore point? I ended up wiping the drive and reinstalling XP. I have it to the point where she can do her Web surfing and email but I still need to install applications. With the grandchildren at the house all weekend, it may be a few days before I get to it.

The HP Kinderputer had a lot of malware infections but I was able to clean the successfully with Malwarebytes. I think I am going to have to set aside time every week for maintenance (updates, malware scans, clean up, whatever).

Needing something to use for my work on my Dell certifications, I resurrected the old Kinderputer and put Windows on that. It’s behaving rather quirky too. I couldn’t get it to join the domain and it’s having problems downloading Microsoft updates. I’m the only one using it so I copied the login script to the Startup Menu so it maps my drives. It sees everything on the network but for some reason when I try to join the domain, it says it can’t find a domain controller. I’m not too worried about it. It’s only a temporary solution until I get the laptop going again. I’ll probably put Linux on this PC anyway.

The 2000 domain controllers are still running fine as is my old 2000 PC which still gets plenty of use. I haven’t had time to do anything with the IBM workstation other than install the basic hardware. I still haven’t installed Linux. I’m not in a big hurry to get it done. When I do it, I want to do it right the first time.

I’ve been working on my Dell certifications this month and they have been kicking my ass more than I had expected. I guess I expected to breeze through them but my ego got knocked back a few pegs. I’m still uncertain as to how these certifications are going to help me with my job. I know that I need them but I don’t see how, exactly, to use them. All of the courses I’ve gone through have dealt with troubleshooting and diagnosis. The “tear down” courses are optional. Do the courses I’ve passed “qualify” me to work on the hardware? Or do they just qualify me to diagnose a problem, call it in and request parts and a technician?

Leave a Reply

