7 Nov Update

The Linux migration is still stalled but I’m beginning to get it back on track again. I got the second hard drive on the existng primary Linux server partitioned, formatted and mounted. That was a good learning experience for when I set up the IBM box. I did the same with the 800GB drive on my Linux PC though the process was a bit different using the GUI tools.

The plan is still to reduce the number of servers from four to two. When the project is complete, I’ll have a Linux server providing logon services and file sharing through Samba, NTP and DNS. It will also have a large second hard drive for home directories. The second “server” will be a PC running Windows XP to share my Samsung printer. The idea is to minimize equipment and simplify the network.

I recently acquired an HP P1505n printer that had been condemned. I got it working and I connected it to the network yesterday. So far I have it set up on two Linux and two Windows installations. On my Ubuntu PC I had to go through the CUPS Web Frontend to install it. On the PC running Linux Mint, I had no problems installing it via the GUI administration tools. It’s good to have a printer that’s accessible everywhere on the network.

I installed an ATI video card in the IBM Intellistation M Pro (6230-20U). Since it’s going to function as a server with only a command-line interface, I don’t need anything fancy. I got it with a 40GB drive installed which should be sufficient for the OS and services. I added a 250GB hard drive for home directories which is likely to meet my needs for quite some time. Perhaps later on I’ll install matching drives to create a software-based RAID 1 configuration. At some point, I’ll probably have to find (or develop) a script to back the home directories to the NAS. Those are later projects.

As I build the IBM box, my plan is to have it completely configured and tested before I put it out as my main server. I’ll use the current Linux server to experiment with concepts and such. So far the Windows domain controllers, despite showing their age, are chugging along. It’s great that they’re still working after nearly a decade but it’s time to move on, move ahead.

