Gwibber Update

A couple days ago, I noticed that my Twitter feeds on Gwibber were no longer updating but I didn’t have time to look into it until today. I found a Gwibber forum that discussed, at length, various source code tweaks. If I was still involved with programming and writing code, it might have been fun.

I looked on an Ubuntu forum and found the answer I was looking for. It turned out that Twitter had changed the way clients needed to authenticate user accounts. Ubuntu’s repositories did not yet have the current, working version of Gwibber so a forum member explained how to obtain the update using apt-get. That’s so much simpler now that I’m more in the user camp.

If you use Gwibber to access your Twitter feeds, here’s the fix:

Linux terminal:
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:ubuntu-desktop/ppa
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade
Restart Gwibber:
gwibber-service restart

You’ll have to edit your Twitter information to authorize it (username and password). Also note that you can only have one Twitter account at a time active in Gwibber which is kind of inconvenient as I had two accounts active before the change. On my Windows computer, I can have two instances of Thwirl open, each with a separate account open. As near as I can tell, Gwibber under Linux won’t allow that. Would the Linux version of Thwirl let me do that?

Technorati Tags: ,,
One Response

  1. Gwibber stopped updating my Twitter timeline a few days ago. Today I found a fix: How To Fix Gwibber Bug Of Not Updating The Twitter Timeline

    It has something to do with the language support.

Comments are closed.

