Printing Issues

I’ve been doing some online research and printing in my new Linux environment will be a challenge. Linux support for the Lexmark X4550 all-in-one is non-existent and rather limited for the Samsung ML-1740.

There is a Linux driver for the Samsung but the printer is basically a “Windows” printer. I haven’t had any success with it on a JetDirect although I’m going to give that another shot. I may have to continue to share it off a Windows computer and access it through Samba. I’m not sure what form this Windows print server will take yet.

When I next shop for a printer, Linux support will be a deal breaker. Actually, Linux support will be essential for any future hardware purchase. In the meantime I’ll do what I can to access the Samsung printer from Linux and live with it. I may have to keep a Windows machine alive to share it. Whether or not it’s the current W2K machine or an XP machine is yet to be determined.

