Upgrades: Linux 2, Windows 0

For some reason my desktop wouldn’t take the XP. It never got past the “Starting Windows Setup…” screen. After a few attempts I decided I didn’t want to deal with it right now. I’ll probably replace it with a refurbish PC by the end of the summer. For now, I cleaned it up and it seems to be working okay.

I’ve upgraded the old Gateway desktop and my laptop to Lucid Lynx (Ubuntu 10.04 LTS) I like the look of the Gnome desktop. I haven’t really had a chance to play around with it yet but it looks promising.

I’m not sure I’m going to bother upgrading FrankenWeb. I think the web server is due for retirement. It’s been shutting itself down a lot lately. I suspect it’s probably the motherboard. I’ve also been unable to access it from the Internet. I don’t know what’s up with that. Did AT&T apply some kind of security on my behalf? I don’t know.

I’m not aware of any way to recover the contents of the old tech blog not that there was anything of any real importance. I would like to have the links. I guess I can try to remember them.

There wasn’t much content in my /home/public_html directory and I’ve moved some of it to my hosted sites. I still had my Legacy family tree being served locally. I need to find a way to move that to the hosted site. I think if I can get ssh access, I might be able to upload a tarball and then exapnd it. That would be better than uploading thousands of 4K files.

I need to get moving on my Linux migration project to replace my Active Directory. I’ve got a computer. All I need to do is install Linux with Samba and confgure it. I’m still considering using an old Pentium without the GUI to use as a headless DNS and NTP server.

There’s always something that needs to be done.

3 Responses

  1. I need to take a look at pages I’ve moved to make sure that links still work properly and that the supporting pages (css and includes) are there and working. I will probably have to tweak the code some.

  2. I was able to get the links by accessing the database through phpMyAdmin and writing them down. There might have been a couple of worth while posts but I can probably recreate them from scratch.

  3. I must have had a brain fart or something but it just dawned on me that I can go into phpMyAdmin and export the database into a text file from which I can pull the entries and place them into an html file for my local archive. Why didn’t I think of that before?

Comments are closed.

